Herding Instinct Test

Herding Instinct Test

2024

with Carolyn Wilki

FMI: TELEPHONE — (610) 674-0160

Closing Dates: 2 weeks before each event. No refunds thereafter with exception of event cancellation.

IF SPACE PERMITS, ENTRIES WILL BE ACCEPTED ON-SITE UNTIL 12 NOON ON ANY TEST DAY.

Runs Start: 9:00 a.m.   (Note: Start time may be at 8 a.m. especially in June- August). Each test takes about 20 minutes to a half hour. Specific test times will be e-mailed to participants by Tuesday evening before Saturday’s tests. Tests will be outdoors.


Carolyn Wilki, a nationally recognized herding author, has tested over 1500 dogs, all breeds. She has trained dogs to over 150 herding titles. IN THE TEST, positive reinforcement testing techniques are used. Dogs are first to penned sheep with dog outside a pen. Many dogs can pass the test without actually going into the pen. As necessary, if the dog requires additional stimulation by chasing stock without a barrier between, the dog (on or off lead as appropriate), will be tested inside a 200’ diameter pen with sheep. Dogs must show at least 5 minutes of interest in sheep in some herding style and some responsiveness to handling within a 10 minute period in order to receive a certificate. Every dog will receive a written evaluation. Puppies should be no younger than 6 months of age. No upper age limit.

Directions

Please check in with event secretary when you arrive. Although tests may be conducted indoors if weather is inclement, please wear appropriate weather gear. Bring bug spray, sun block, rainproof and warm clothes, if appropriate. Leash your dog!   Dress your dog in all his normal collars you would use for training, including a flat buckle collar. Please pick up after your dog. Feed & water dog as usual! Bring dog treats—we might use them (or not) when your dog sees the sheep.



Herding Instinct Test
Test Dates 2024 (recent)
Session XI. Sunday, December 31, 2023. 8am - 3pm
Session I. Saturday, January 27, 2024. 9am - 4 pm
Session II. Saturday, February 10, 2024. 9am - 4 pm
Session III. Special BERGAMASCO-Only Sheepdog Instinct Test - Saturday, February 24, 2024. 9am - 4 pm
Session IV. Special BERGAMASCO-Only Sheepdog Instinct Test - Sunday, February 25, 2024. 9am - 4 pm
Session V. Saturday, March 16, 2024. 9am - 4 pm
Session VI. Saturday, April 6, 2024. 9am-5pm
Session VII. Saturday, April 27, 2024. 9am-5pm
Session VIII. Saturday, June 1, 2024. 9am-5pm
Session IX. Saturday, June 29, 2024. 9am-5pm
Session X. Saturday, September 7, 2024. 9am - 5pm
Session XI. Saturday, September 14, 2024. 9am-5pm
Session XII. Saturday, October 26, 2024. 9am - 5pm
Session XIII. Saturday, November 9, 2024. 9am - 4pm
Session XIV. Saturday, December 14, 2024. 9am - 4pm
Session I. New Year's Day Herding Instinct Test XI - Wednesday, January 1, 2025. 9am - 4pm